Homebrew bottling!

Posted on

Hey everyone. This is part two of the homebrew on my first stout, an imperial version. I’m not sure why more people aren’t homebrewing, but it’s a shame. The majority of beer on the market tastes the same and they cut corners. Homebrewing allows you to get the flavors, fats, tanins, aroma, bitterness, and other amazing things for your taste buds and nose that overly manufactured beers in plants cannot duplicate. Get back to your roots, no matter what part of the globe you hail from, and begin homebrewing.

 

img_4244

First you need to set stuff up, which includes caps (cleaned and sanitized), carbonation tablets (or dissolved sugar), and a cap presser. There’s many ways to do bottle and make beer, I choose the easiest for me.

Once your beer has completely finished the fermentation process, it’s ready for bottling. MAKE SURE YOUR BOTTLES AND ANYTHING YOU WILL USE IS CLEAN AND SANITIZED. You’ll need to get the beer from the fermentation bucket to each bottle. Plastic hosing makes the job fairly simple.

Since I use carbonation tablets, I place them in the bottle prior to putting beer in each bottle. As you transfer beer to the bottles, make sure you pay attention so you don’t over fill the bottles and spill your beer.

Once you get to the bottom of your fermentation bucket, you’ll run into trub. Here’s a photo.

img_4258

The trub is not good for your finished beer and you should avoid getting any of it into your bottles. In this photo, the liquid is still good and relatively free of sediment so you need to tilt your bucket toward the spigot so you can get a few more bottles filled. Once there’s no more liquid and all you see is sediment, that’s it, your done.

Here’s a few photos of what my homebrew bottling set-up looks like. You’ll notice bottles on both side sides of the bottling bucket (with tubing already attached). You keen observers will see that the bucket reads “Deluxe Fermenter.” That is because I have two buckets with spigots, but for bottling, I use a lid with no hole. The fermenter bucket has a lid with a hole for the airlock. You’ll also noticed little white pellets in the bottles. I experiment often, so on the left the bottles contain four carbonation tablets, on the right the bottles contain five.

 

Once the bottles are filled, you have to put a cap on them, crimp the cap, then leave them in room temperature for at least a week. Stouts are normally left out about two weeks because the carbonation process takes a little longer for stouts than other beers. Here’s a few photos of the finished bottling process.

I bottled this case of imperial stout on 9/2/16. I placed it in the refrigerator today, 9/12/16. I know I just got done saying maybe two weeks in room temperature after bottling is ideal for stout, but I COULDN’T WAIT. I drank some of this right out of the fermenter and it was far better than I could have hoped for. I’m eager to drink it and share it with my friends, so I placed it in the refrigerator slightly early. I’ll get over it.

I just started a lager-like ale that I messed with the recipe hoping to get my version of Coors Light. You read that right, Coors Light. I love the blue mountains, and I’m not a homebrew-craftbrew snob. I’ll keep you guys posted.

**AS A SIDE NOTE… REMEMBER THAT LOVE TRULY CAN CONQUER ALL. YOU JUST HAVE TO BELIEVE IN LOVE.

-Chris

4 thoughts on “Homebrew bottling!

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 14, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    thank you very much!

    Conical Fermenter said:
    September 14, 2016 at 12:49 pm

    Great looking stout!

    Chris Swinney responded:
    September 13, 2016 at 7:08 am

    THANKS Jason. I’m going to move toward kegging in December….We need to meet up over some beers and talk the trade.

    Jason speckenheuer said:
    September 12, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    Very well written. I only bottle once a year and stick with kegs primarily.. Soooo much easier. Hope it turns out brutha.

Please tell me what you think :-)

