Joe

Posted on Updated on

Joe

Blood and other miscreants

struggle to move through capillaries.

A faux-wood kiosk shields

the bevy of people lined up

like candy bars in a vending machine

anxious to be selected.

Lifestyles clustered in a tumbler

seek purpose and motivation to face

the grind stone, rough and unrelenting.

A loud gum-chewer smacks and twirls

surveying tempting pastries.

I grovel with sullied thoughts.

The machine infuriates my needs,

clamors, but not for me.

Finally I reach another like me.

My heart palpitates seeking true weakness.

Caffeine, and whatever I adulterate it with,

is stirred, always clock-wise,

immediately drawing every sense erect.

Cautiously, I cradle the tin cup

up to my lips and tip ever so slightly.

-C.L.Swinney COPYRIGHT 2014 by CLSWINNEY

Please tell me what you think :-)

