Joe

Posted on Updated on

Joe:

Blood, and other stuff in my veins, is lethargic. I negotiate a kiosk and lumber toward the bevy of people lined up like candy bars in a vending machine, some anxious and some fearful, to be selected. A myriad of lifestyles gather in a tumbler seeking a reason to punch the clock another day. A loud gum chewer smacks and twirls surveying temptation, while the rest of us grovel with sullied thoughts. The espresso gadget’s clamor infuriates my needs, since it’s not for me as it chimes for another. My time comes. My heart palpitates without the need for narcotics. Then caffeine, and whatever I adulterate it with, is stirred, always clock-wise, immediately drawing my palate erect. Cautiously I cradle my tin cup up to my lips and tip ever so slightly.

3 thoughts on “Joe

    connie said:
    September 11, 2014 at 3:13 am

    I need you now

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 10, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    Thank you Marja. How have you been?

    Marja McGraw said:
    September 10, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Excellent post, as usual.

Please tell me what you think :-)

