Daily Rant #4

Posted on

Yes, this one really irks me.  So you are in your car and a pedestrian is coming up to the crosswalk in front of you.  You slow and stop and give them plenty of room to walk across the street.  Then, for some unknown reason, they give you the stink eye and walk as slow as possible to the other side!!!!  WTH?!?!?!?  What is really going on there??   Today was the day that this behavior forced me to act.

I jumped out of my car after placing my hazard lights on and politely asked, “Excuse me Sir, would you like assistance crossing the street?”

With a puzzled look the 20-something year old man replied, “Ummm, no.”  Then he turned a little red in the face and picked up his pace across the street.

“Ok, have a great day,” I said as I got back in my car and safely drove away.

What are your experiences with this??

 

C.L. Swinney

16 thoughts on “Daily Rant #4

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    I remember hussling across… I still do, although my hussle is a little slower 🙂

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    It is a safety issue for sure…for everyone involved.

    eobser said:
    September 18, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    There’s so much of that slow-walk-crossing in this tourist town. Locals know better (usually) but the visitors take their sweet time crossing at the crosswalks, not giving a bit that the light has changed and some impatient driver may charge forward. Lots of accidents here in summer season and lots of pedestrians injured, if not killed.

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    Not a lot of respect being showed these days anymore…

    ian said:
    September 18, 2013 at 11:11 am

    I hate when people do that. When we were kids we had respect and always hussled across the street out of pure respect for others.

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 10:31 am

    Remain calm!

    Billie said:
    September 18, 2013 at 10:11 am

    Worse, IMO, are those who wander around parking lots in the driving lanes….Ugh! What arrogance they have that I will not hit them…which I wouldn’t do on purpose, but there is that tendency for me to get distracted, and they are gambling with that!

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:27 am

    I try to avoid crowded area at ALL costs!!! But, I have jumped out to help those who actually could use a hand 😉

    MarilynMeredith (@MarilynMeredith) said:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Of course that’s supposed to be remembers.

    MarilynMeredith (@MarilynMeredith) said:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Happens all the time when you drive near the high school and school gets out. I never go near the place at that time, but hubby never reembers.

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:09 am

    Laugh out loud!!!

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:09 am

    CRAZY!!!

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Oooh, that’s a good one. Then, when you wave them through, they pick up FiFi the dog, give you a dirty look, then shake their head all the way across the street!

    Merilee said:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Chuckling……..knowingly 😉

    Amy said:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:07 am

    Haha! I would have paid to see that! Danny really really hates when you’re in a crowded area and groups of people go a cross the street Taking 3 lights to be able to make your turn and then right as you go a straggler decides oh now I need to go……. WTH you couldn’t have gone with the other 1000 people who just crossed. Which then forces you to be stuck for another 3 lights while the next 1000 people pass! Haha Annoying!

    John Brantingam said:
    September 18, 2013 at 9:06 am

    I can’t stand when I slow to a stop, go through all that trouble, they step off the curb and wave me on. No, I shall not go! It’s illegal for me to go. Plus, I can’t stand that passive aggressive stuff.

Please tell me what you think :-)

