With Love

Posted on

I grabbed a copy of East of Los Angeles by John Brantingham and I got inspired to get back to writing poetry.  Figured I would do what I used to do the most, which is romantic poems.  Hope you guys like this….

 

With Love

The time spent away,

and alone from you

are times that seemingly last forever,

but in days number few.

Today, the day I will always cherish,

I want to wish my beautiful lady

the happiest day.

At time things have been trying,

and I am to blame,

because I don’t always do things the same.

In my heart,

there is nothing but love.

‘Cause I was blessed with the sweetest babe,

from someone above.

Searching for the words,

or the expression,

I’ve been struck.

With the fact

that my love for you grows.

Everyday, even when we are apart,

my heart grows warmer

thinking of you.

Time stands still

until we come together as one.

That’s when I’m me,

and at my best.

C. L. Swinney

4 thoughts on “With Love

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    June 18, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    Yeah probably why I stopped… Was too hot!! I’m going to start up again officially after I get John Brantingham’s
    Book on how to write poetry 🙂

    marta chausée said:
    June 18, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    That got a little steamy toward the end. Now was it a good thing or a bad thing that you quit writing when you did??? 😉

    C. L. Swinney responded:
    June 17, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    Owe it all to you John!! Thanks man!

    John Brantingham said:
    June 17, 2013 at 11:54 am

    That’s fantastic Chris. I love too that you were inspired to work in the form of poetry!

Please tell me what you think :-)

